العلم الذي تقوم عليه TTFields

تنقسم الخلايا السرطانية وتتضاعف سريعًا داخل الورم السرطاني. وتحمل هذه الخلايا السرطانية أنواعًا مختلفة من العناصر المشحونة كهربائيًا التي تؤدي دورًا في عملية انقسام الخلايا. تتضاعف الخلايا السليمة الأخرى في منطقة البطن بمعدل أبطأ بكثير، هذا إن تضاعفت على الإطلاق، و/أو تمتلك خصائص أخرى مختلفة مثل اختلاف الحجم مقارنة بالخلايا السرطانية. لذلك، نادرًا ما تمتلك الخلايا الطبيعية نفس الخصائص الكهربائية الموجودة لدى الخلايا السرطانية المنقسمة، ومن غير المتوقع أن تتأثر بمجالات TTFields.

آلية عمل TTFields

يقوم جهاز NovoTTF-100L(O) المستخدم في هذه الدراسة بتوصيل مجالات كهربائية مترددة منخفضة الشدة للغاية إلى مكان الورم من خلال الجلد والأنسجة الأخرى الأكثر سطحية. تُعرف هذه المجالات باسم المجالات الكهربائية المعالجة للأورام أو TTFields. أظهرت دراسات المرحلة ما قبل السريرية أنه نظرًا لشكل وحجم الخلايا السرطانية عند تضاعفها، تؤدي TTFields إلى تغير مكان المكونات الخلوية المشحونة كهربائيًا لهذه الخلايا داخل الخلية المنقسمة، ويمكن أن يسبب ذلك تعطّل وظائفها الطبيعية وقد يؤدي في النهاية إلى موت الخلية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تحتوي الخلايا السرطانية أيضًا على وحدات بناء متناهية الصغر تعمل كمحركات دقيقة في نقل الأجزاء الأساسية للخلية من مكان إلى آخر. تتداخل TTFields مع الاتجاه الطبيعي لهذه المحركات الدقيقة لأنها مشحونة كهربائيًا أيضًا. نتيجة هذين التأثيرين، يتم إبطاء عملية انقسام خلايا الورم، وقد ينتج عن ذلك موت الخلايا أو عكس عملية انقسام الخلايا، مما يؤدي إلى تثبيط نمو الورم بعد التعرض المستمر لمجالات TTFields. تشير البيانات الأولية أيضًا إلى أن مجالات TTFields قد تؤثر على خلايا الأنسجة السليمة في منطقة البطن بصورة أقل بكثير من تأثيرها على الخلايا السرطانية، نظرًا لأن خلايا الأنسجة السليمة تتضاعف بمعدل أبطأ بكثير، إن تضاعفت على الإطلاق.

يوضح مقطع الرسوم المتحركة التالي ملخصًا لآلية عمل TTFields:

 

 

إن مجالات TTFIELDS غير معتمدة لعلاج سرطان المبيض. لم تثبت سلامة وفعالية استخدام TTFIELDS في علاج سرطان المبيض.

[مقطع فيديو عن العلم الذي تقوم عليه TTFields]

الخبرة السريرية السابقة

حتى الآن، تم اختبار عدد من الأنظمة المصممة لتوصيل TTFields لأورام مختلفة. والاختلاف الرئيسي بين الأنظمة التي تم اختبارها سابقًا ونظام NovoTTF-100L(O) هو تردد TTFields التي يوفرها كل نظام. تقوم الجهة المصنعة للأنظمة بضبط التردد من أجل تحسين العلاج المقدم لكل حالة سرطان خاضعة للعلاج، بناءً على البيانات المستقاة من التجارب المعملية.

لقد تم اختبار جهاز NovoTTF-100L(O) بالفعل في دراسة تجريبية (مشابهة لدراسة من المرحلة الثانية/دراسة عن السلامة) أجريت على 31 مريضة بسرطان المبيض المتكرر، مقرونًا مع تناول باكليتاكسيل، لاختبار سلامة مجالات TTFields وفعاليتها الأولية في داعي الاستخدام هذا. وشكلت نتيجة هذه الدراسة الأساس لتصميم دراسة ENGOT-ov50/INNOVATE-3.

تم اعتماد نظام آخر يوصل TTFields (200 كيلو هرتز) يسمى Optune® لعلاج الورم الأرومي الدبقي المتكرر والمشخص حديثًا (أحد أنواع سرطان المخ) بواسطة إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية (FDA) في الولايات المتحدة بموجب مسار ترخيص ما قبل التسويق (PMA)، وحصل هذا النظام على علامة المطابقة الأوروبية (CE) في أوروبا لدواعي الاستخدام نفسها.  في عام 2019، اعتمدت إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية مجالات TTFields تحت اسم Optune Lua (المعروفة سابقًا باسم NovoTTF-100L) لعلاج ورم الظهارة المتوسطة الخبيث في الغشاء الجنبي (MPM)، مقرونة بالعلاج الكيميائي، بموجب مسار إعفاء الأجهزة لأسباب إنسانية (HDE). في عام 2020، حصل NovoTTF-100L على علامة CE في أوروبا لعلاج MPM.

 

الآثار الجانبية

بناءً على العلم الذي تقوم عليه مجالات TTFields والنتائج السريرية حتى الآن، ليس من المتوقع أن تكون لجهاز NovoTTF-100L(O) آثار جانبية جهازية على المريضات اللاتي يعانين من سرطان المبيض. في الدراسات السابقة التي أُجريت باستخدام نظام Optune®، وهو النظام المختبر في علاج الورم الأرومي الدبقي، أصيب نسبة كبيرة من المرضى بتهيج الجلد الموضعي أسفل مصفوفات محول الطاقة وتراوحت شدته من خفيفة إلى متوسطة لدى الغالبية العظمى من الحالات.

وفي الدراسة التي سبق ذكرها الخاصة بسرطان المبيض، لم تكن هناك أي آثار جانبية خطيرة نسبها أطباء الدراسة إلى مجالات TTFields. وكان الأثر الجانبي الوحيد الذي ارتبط بالجهاز هو تهيج الجلد تحت مصفوفات محول الطاقة الموضوعة على الجلد، وتراوحت شدته في معظم الحالات من خفيفة إلى متوسطة.

المعلومات المقدمة في هذا الموقع الإلكتروني معلومات جزئية، وينبغي أن تستشيري طبيبكِ المعالج بشأن خصائص السلامة الكاملة الخاصة بمجالات TTFields.

يُرجى ملاحظة أنه على الرغم من أن معلومات الأحداث الضارة المستقاة من الدراسات السريرية الأخرى قد تكون ذات صلة باستخدام الجهاز لعلاج سرطان المبيض، ليس من الضروري أن تكون خاصة بحالتكِ تحديدًا، وقد تضمنت الدراسة المذكورة أعلاه الخاصة بسرطان المبيض عددًا صغيرًا من المريضات. وبالتالي، لم تثبت خصائص سلامة الجهاز لعلاج سرطان المبيض، وقد تكون مختلفة.

Cancer cells divide and multiply rapidly within the cancer tumor. These cancer cells carry different types of electrically charged elements that play a role during the cell division process. Other healthy cells in the abdominal region multiply at a much slower rate, if at all, and/or have other different properties such as a different size, compared to the cancer cells. Thus, normal cells rarely include the same electric properties as the dividing cancer cells and are not expected to be affected by TTFields.

TTFields Mechanism of Action

The NovoTTF-100L(O) device used in this trial delivers very low intensity, alternating electric fields to the tumor site through the skin and other more superficial tissues. These fields are known as Tumor Treating Fields or TTFields. Preclinical studies showed that due to the shape and size of cancer cells when they are multiplying, TTFields cause electrically-charged cellular components of these cells to change their location within the dividing cell, which can disrupt their normal function and may ultimately lead to cell death. In addition, cancer cells also contain miniature building blocks which act as tiny motors in moving essential parts of the cells from place to place. TTFields interfere with the normal orientation of these tiny motors since they are electrically-charged as well. As a result of these two effects, tumor cell division is slowed, and may result in cellular death or cell division reversal, leading to inhibition of tumor growth after continuous exposure to TTFields. Preliminary data also indicate that the TTFields may affect the healthy tissue cells within the abdominal region much less than cancer cells since healthy tissue cells multiply at a much slower rate, if at all.

A summary of TTFields’ mechanism of action is illustrated in the following animation:

TTFIELDS ARE NOT APPROVED FOR THE TREATMENT OF OVARIAN CANCER. THE SAFETY AND EFFICACY OF TTFIELDS FOR OVARIAN CANCER HAS NOT BEEN ESTABLISHED.

Past clinical experience

A number of systems developed to deliver TTFields to different tumors have been tested to date. The main difference between the previously tested systems and the NovoTTF-100L is the frequency of TTFields provided by each system. The frequency is adjusted by the manufacturer of the systems in order to optimize the treatment for each treated cancer, based on data from laboratory experiments.

The NovoTTF-100L has been already tested in a pilot study (similar to a device phase 2/safety trial) for 31 patients with platinum resistant ovarian cancer in combination with paclitaxel, to test the safety and preliminary efficacy of TTFields in this indication. The result of this study were the basis for the design of the INNOVATE-3 trial.

The NovoTTF-100L has a CE Mark in Europe for the treatment of non-small-cell lung cancer.

The Optune® System delivering TTFields to the brain is approved by the FDA for the treatment of recurrent and newly diagnosed glioblastoma, a type of aggressive primary brain cancer. The same system has a CE Mark in Europe for the treatment of glioblastoma (for more information about the approved indications for use, please consult with your doctor or refer to the product information sheet).

Side effects

Based on the science behind TTFields and the clinical results to date, the NovoTTF-100L System is not expected to have systemic side effects in patients suffering from ovarian cancer. In previous studies performed with Optune®, the system tested in glioblastoma, a high percentage of patients have experienced local skin irritation beneath the transducer arrays, which was mild to moderate in severity in the vast majority of cases.

In the aforementioned trial for ovarian cancer, there were no serious side effects attributed by the trial doctors to TTFields. The only side effect which was related to the device was skin irritation under the transducer arrays placed on the skin which in the majority of the cases was mild to moderate in severity.

The information provided in this website is partial, and you should consult with your treating doctor concerning the complete safety profile of TTFields.

Please note that while the adverse event information from the other clinical trials may be relevant to use of the device for ovarian cancer, it is not necessarily specific to your condition, and the aforementioned trial for ovarian cancer included a small number of patients. Therefore, the safety profile of the device for ovarian cancer has not been established and may be different.