تنقسم الخلايا السرطانية وتتضاعف سريعًا داخل الورم السرطاني البنكرياسي. وتحمل هذه الخلايا السرطانية أنواعًا مختلفة من العناصر المشحونة كهربيًا التي تؤدي دورًا في عملية انقسام الخلايا. تنقسم الخلايا السليمة الأخرى في منطقة البطن بمعدل أبطأ بكثير، هذا إن انقسمت على الإطلاق، و/أو تمتلك خصائص أخرى مختلفة، مثل اختلاف الحجم، مقارنة بالخلايا السرطانية. لذلك، نادرًا ما تمتلك الخلايا الطبيعية نفس الخصائص الكهربائية التي تمتلكها الخلايا السرطانية المنقسمة وليس من المتوقع أن تتأثر بالمجالات المعالجة للأورام.

آلية عمل المجالات المعالجة للأورام

يقوم جهاز NovoTTF-100L(P) المستخدم في هذه التجربة بتوصيل مجالات كهربائية مترددة منخفضة الشدة للغاية إلى مكان الورم من خلال الجلد والعديد من الأنسجة الأخرى الأكثر سطحية. تُعرف هذه المجالات باسم المجالات المعالجة للأورام أو TTFields. أظهرت دراسات المرحلة ما قبل السريرية أنه نظرًا لشكل الخلايا السرطانية وحجمها عند تضاعفها، فإن مجالات TTFields تتسبب في تغيير مكان المكونات الخلوية المشحونة كهربيًا لهذه الخلايا داخل الخلية المنقسمة، وتعطل وظائفها الطبيعية وتؤدي في النهاية إلى موت الخلية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تحتوي الخلايا السرطانية أيضًا على وحدات بنائية متناهية الصغر تعمل كمحركات دقيقة في نقل الأجزاء الأساسية للخلية من مكان لآخر. تتداخل مجالات TTFields مع المسار الطبيعي لهذه المحركات الدقيقة حيث إنها مشحونة كهربيًا كذلك. ونتيجة لهذين التأثيرين، يتم إبطاء عملية انقسام خلايا الورم، وينتج عن ذلك موت الخلايا أو عكس عملية انقسام الخلايا، مما يؤدي إلى تثبيط نمو الورم بعد التعرض المستمر لمجالات TTFields. تشير البيانات المبدئية أيضًا إلى أن مجالات TTFields يمكنها أن تؤثر على خلايا الأنسجة السليمة في منطقة البطن بصورة أقل بكثير من تأثيرها على الخلايا السرطانية، حيث إن الخلايا السليمة تتضاعف بمعدل أقل بكثير، إن تضاعفت على الإطلاق.

يوضح مقطع الرسوم المتحركة التالي ملخصًا لآلية عمل مجالات TTFields للأورام:

إن مجالات TTFields غير معتمدة لعلاج سرطان البنكرياس. لم يتم إثبات سلامة وفعالية مجالات TTFields في علاج سرطان البنكرياس.

التجارب السريرية السابقة

لقد تم اختبار عدد من الأنظمة المصممة لتوصيل مجالات TTFields لمختلف الأورام حتى الآن. ووجه الاختلاف الرئيسي بين الأنظمة المختبرة في السابق ونظام NovoTTF-100L(P) هو تردد الموجات TTFields التي يولدها كل نظام. تقوم الجهة المصنعة للأنظمة بضبط التردد لتحسين العلاج المقدم لكل مرض سرطاني يتم علاجه، وفقًا للبيانات المستقاة من التجارب المعملية.

لقد تم اختبار نظام The NovoTTF-100L(P) بالفعل في دراسة تجريبية على 40 مريضًا مصابًا بسرطان الغدد البنكرياسية متقدم موضعيًا أو نقيلي غير القابل للاستئصال، بالتزامن مع جيمسيتابين أو جيمسيتابين زائد ناب-باكليتاكسيل، لاختبار سلامة مجالات TTFields وفعاليتها المبدئية في داعي الاستخدام هذا. وقد شكلت نتيجة هذه الدراسة أساسًا لتصميم دراسة PANOVA-3.

يحمل جهاز NovoTTF-100L علامة CE في أوروبا لعلاج سرطان الرئة غير صغير الخلايا.

إن نظام Optune® الذي يوصل مجالات TTFields للمخ معتمد من قِبل إدارة الغذاء والدواء الأمريكية لعلاج الورم الأرومي الدبقي متكرر الظهور والمشخص حديثًا، وهو أحد أنواع سرطان المخ الأولي العدواني. ويحمل هذا النظام نفسه علامة CE في أوروبا لعلاج الورم الأرومي الدبقي (لمزيد من المعلومات حول دواعي الاستخدام المعتمدة، يُرجى استشارة طبيبك أو الرجوع إلى صحيفة معلومات المنتج).

الآثار الجانبية

بناءً على العلم الذي تقوم عليه مجالات TTFields والنتائج السريرية المستقاة حتى الآن، فإنه ليس من المتوقع أن تكون لنظام NovoTTF-100L(P) آثار جانبية جهازية على المرضى المصابين بسرطان البنكرياس. في الدراسات السابقة التي أُجريت باستخدام نظام Optune®، وهو النظام المختبر في علاج الورم الأرومي الدبقي، أصيب نسبة كبيرة من المرضى بتهيج موضعي بالجلد أسفل مصفوفات محول الطاقة، وكان التهيج خفيفًا إلى متوسط الشدة في الغالبية العظمى من الحالات.

وفي الدراسة السابق ذكرها الخاصة بعلاج سرطان الغدد البنكرياسية، لم تكن هناك أي آثار جانبية خطيرة قام أطباء الدراسة بربط ظهورها بمجالات TTFields. وكان الأثر الجانبي الوحيد المرتبط بالجهاز هو تهيج الجلد أسفل مصفوفات محول الطاقة المثبتة على الجلد والذي كانت تتراوح شدته في معظم الحالات من خفيف إلى متوسط.

المعلومات المقدمة في هذا الموقع الإلكتروني ليست كاملة، وينبغي لك استشارة طبيبك المعالج بشأن المواصفات الكاملة للسلامة الخاصة بمجالات TTFields.

يُرجى العلم بأنه على الرغم من أن معلومات الأحداث الضارة المستقاة من التجارب السريرية الأخرى قد تكون ذات صلة باستخدام الجهاز الخاص بسرطان البنكرياس، إلا أنها ليست بالضرورة منطبقة على حالتك بالتحديد، فقد تضمنت الدراسة المذكورة أعلاه الخاصة بسرطان البنكرياس عددًا صغيرًا من المرضى. وبالتالي، لم تُحدَد خصائص سلامة الجهاز الخاص بسرطان البنكرياس وقد تكون مختلفة.

Cancer cells divide and multiply rapidly within the pancreatic cancer tumor. These cancer cells carry different types of electrically charged elements that play a role during the cell division process. Other healthy cells in the abdominal region multiply at a much slower rate, if at all, and/or have other different properties such as a different size, compared to the cancer cells. Thus, normal cells rarely include the same electric properties as the dividing cancer cells and are not expected to be affected by TTFields.

TTFields Mechanism of Action

The NovoTTF-100L(P) device used in this trial delivers very low intensity, alternating electric fields to the tumor site through the skin and other more superficial tissues. These fields are known as Tumor Treating Fields or TTFields. Preclinical studies showed that due to the shape and size of cancer cells when they are multiplying, TTFields cause electrically-charged cellular components of these cells to change their location within the dividing cell, disrupting their normal function and ultimately leading to cell death. In addition, cancer cells also contain miniature building blocks which act as tiny motors in moving essential parts of the cells from place to place. TTFields interfere with the normal orientation of these tiny motors since they are electrically-charged as well. As a result of these two effects, tumor cell division is slowed, results in cellular death or cell division reversal leading to inhibition of tumor growth after continuous exposure to TTFields. Preliminary data also indicate that the TTFields may affect the healthy tissue cells within the abdominal region much less than cancer cells since healthy tissue cells multiply at a much slower rate, if at all.

A summary of TTFields’ mechanism of action is illustrated in the following animation:

TTFIELDS ARE NOT APPROVED FOR THE TREATMENT OF PANCREATIC CANCER. THE SAFETY AND EFFICACY OF TTFIELDS FOR PANCREATIC CANCER HAS NOT BEEN ESTABLISHED.

 

Past clinical experience

A number of systems developed to deliver TTFields to different tumors have been tested to date. The main difference between the previously tested systems and the NovoTTF-100L(P) is the frequency of TTFields provided by each system. The frequency is adjusted by the manufacturer of the systems in order to optimize the treatment for each treated cancer, based on data from laboratory experiments.

The NovoTTF-100L(P) has been already tested in a pilot study for 40 patients with locally advanced or metastatic unresectable pancreatic adenocarcinoma in combination with gemcitabine or gemcitabine plus nab-paclitaxel, to test the safety and preliminary efficacy of TTFields in this indication. The result of this study were the basis for the design of the PANOVA-3 study.

The NovoTTF-100L has a CE Mark in Europe for the treatment of non-small-cell lung cancer.

The Optune® System delivering TTFields to the brain is approved by the FDA for the treatment of recurrent and newly diagnosed glioblastoma, a type of aggressive primary brain cancer. The same system has a CE Mark in Europe for the treatment of glioblastoma (for more information about the approved indications for use, please consult with your doctor or refer to the product information sheet).

 

Side effects

Based on the science behind TTFields and the clinical results to date, the NovoTTF-100L(P) System is not expected to have systemic side effects in patients suffering from pancreatic cancer. In previous studies performed with Optune®, the system tested in glioblastoma, a high percentage of patients have experienced local skin irritation beneath the transducer arrays, which was mild to moderate in severity in the vast majority of cases.

In the aforementioned study for pancreatic adenocarcinoma, there were no serious side effects attributed by the study doctors to TTFields. The only side effect which was related to the device was skin irritation under the transducer arrays placed on the skin which in the majority of the cases was mild to moderate in severity.

The information provided in this website is partial, and you should consult with your treating physician concerning the complete safety profile of TTFields.

Please note that while the adverse event information from the other clinical trials may be relevant to use of the device for pancreatic cancer, it is not necessarily specific to your condition, and the aforementioned study for pancreatic cancer included a small number of patients. Therefore, the safety profile of the device for pancreatic cancer has not been established and may be different.