إن تجربة PANOVA-3 (المعروفة أيضًا باسم “تجربة EF-27”) هي تجربة حاسمة (مشابهة لتجربة من المرحلة الثالثة على عقار) مراقبة عشوائية التوزيع مصممة لاختبار فعالية وسلامة المجالات المعالجة للأورام (TTFields) التي يُولّدها جهاز طبي، يُسمى نظام NovoTTF-100L(P) [معلومات عن TTFields]، بالتزامن مع تناول جيمسيتابين وناب-باكليتاكسيل كعلاج أولي للمرضى المصابين بسرطان الغدد البنكرياسية المتقدم موضعيًا غير القابل للاستئصال الجراحي. من المتوقع أن يُسجِّل في التجربة إجمالي 556 مريضًا. يتم حاليًا إلحاق المرضى بهذه التجربة في العديد من المراكز حول العالم [PANOVA-3 Centers].

تصميم تجربة PANOVA-3

المرضى المشخصة إصابتهم مؤخرًا بسرطان الغدد البنكرياسية المتقدم موضعيًا غير القابل للاستئصال الجراحي مرشحون لهذه التجربة. لا يمكن تحديد الأهلية النهائية إلا بواسطة طبيب التجربة السريرية في أحد المراكز المشاركة في التجربة السريرية. سيتلقى جميع المرضى الملتحقين بالتجربة علاج معيار الرعاية لسرطان البنكرياس الذي يعانون منه، بالإضافة إلى جيمسيتابين وناب-باكليتاكسيل كما هو الحال بالنسبة للمرضى غير المشاركين في التجربة. سيتم توزيع جميع المرضى عشوائيًا على واحدة من مجموعتين:

  • مجموعة TTFields: العلاج بمجالات TTFields باستخدام نظام NovoTTF-100L(P) بالإضافة إلى علاج معيار الرعاية باستخدام جيمسيتابين وناب-باكليتاكسيل.
  • مجموعة معيار الرعاية (المراقبة): علاج معيار الرعاية باستخدام جيمسيتابين وناب-باكليتاكسيل.
    ستكون فرصة كل مريض لدخول إحدى المجموعتين 50% وفقًا لما يتحدد في “عملية التوزيع العشوائي” (تشبه إجراء القرعة بإلقاء عملة معدنية في الهواء). ويمكن إلحاق المرضى المؤهلين في التجربة في غضون فترة لا تزيد عن 28 يومًا من تشخيصهم بسرطان الغدد البنكرياسية.

مجموعة TTFields

إذا تم إلحاق المريض بمجموعة TTFields، فسيتلقى علاجًا مستمرًا بمجالات TTFields باستخدام نظام NovoTTF-100L(P). لاستخدام الجهاز، يتعين على المريض ارتداء أربع مصفوفات خاصة بمحول الطاقة يتم لصقها على البطن والظهر والخاصرتين. قد يتطلب وضع المصفوفات حلاقة الشعر في منطقة البطن/الظهر قبل بدء استخدام الجهاز، ومرتين أسبوعيًا طوال مدة استخدام الجهاز.

سيبدأ استخدام الجهاز في عيادة خارجية وسيتضمن ذلك تدريبًا على تشغيل الجهاز بواسطة أخصائي لدعم الجهاز (DSS) تابع لشركة Novocure. وسيواصل المرضى استخدام الجهاز في المنزل [العيش مع TTFields].  المرضى الذين يستخدمون نظام NovoTTF-100L(P) يمكن أن يواصلوا استخدام الجهاز بمفردهم (بمساعدة أحد أفراد الأسرة أو مقدم رعاية إذا لزم الأمر) أو يمكن أن يتلقوا الدعم من أخصائي دعم الجهاز الخاص بهم.

النظام سهل الاستخدام ويقوم أخصائي دعم الجهاز بصيانة جميع الجوانب الفنية المتعلقة باستخدامه. يمكن أن يقوم أخصائي دعم الجهاز أيضًا بمساعدة المرضى في العثور على حلول فنية للسماح لكل مريض بتلقي TTFields مع الاستمرار في مزاولة أنشطته الروتينية اليومية.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، سيتلقى المرضى علاج معيار الرعاية باستخدام جيمسيتابين وناب-باكليتاكسيل.

مجموعة معيار الرعاية
المرضى الذين يتم إلحاقهم بمجموعة معيار الرعاية سيتلقون علاج معيار الرعاية باستخدام جيمسيتابين وناب-باكليتاكسيل. قد يستفيد المرضى من تلقي فحوصات متابعة كل 4 أسابيع تتضمن بعض الاختبارات التي لا يشملها عادةً علاج معيار الرعاية، وذلك دون تحمل المريض أي تكلفة.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يساهم جميع المشاركين في الدراسة في مساعدة المرضى المستقبليين من خلال تقديمهم لمعلومات وبيانات إضافية تُستخدم في تقييم فعالية TTFields.

الأهلية
للاطلاع على قائمة كاملة بمعايير الأهلية، يُرجى زيارة الموقع الإلكتروني clinicaltrials.gov أو استشارة أحد أطباء تجربة PANOVA-3:

معايير الإلحاق (ملخص وليس قائمة كاملة):

  1. التشخيص الحديث بالإصابة بسرطان الغدد البنكرياسية، في مرحلة متقدمة موضعيًا، وغير القابل للجراحة.
  2. ألا يقل العمر عن 18 عامًا.

معايير الاستبعاد (ملخص وليس قائمة كاملة):

  1. تلقي علاج تسكيني للورم من قبل (مثال: جراحة، إشعاع).
  2. عدم القدرة على تشغيل جهاز NovoTTF-100L(P) بشكل مستقل أو بمساعدة مقدم رعاية.
  3. السيدات الحوامل والمرضعات.
  4. الإصابة بأمراض خطيرة غير مرتبطة بالمرض الأساسي.
  5. وجود أجهزة إلكترونية مزروعة (مثل منظم ضربات القلب) في منطقة الجذع.

الالتحاق

إجمالي عدد الملتحقين المتوقع هو 556 مريضًا. يتم حاليًا إلحاق المرضى بالتجربة في العديد من المراكز الطبية حول العالم. يُرجى التواصل مع أحد هذه المراكز في أقرب وقت ممكن إذا كنت ترغب في المشاركة في تجربة PANOVA-3.

تكاليف التجربة

ستدفع الجهة الراعية للتجربة (Novocure) مقابل المستلزمات ذات الصلة بالعلاج بشكل معقول، بما في ذلك نظام NovoTTF-100L(P) وملحقاته. بينما سيتحمل المرضى وشركات التأمين الخاصة بهم مسؤولية العلاجات الطبية التي يتم تلقيها في المسار الطبيعي لرعاية المريض. ستقوم الجهة الراعية للتجربة أيضًا بتعويض المرضى عن بعض تكاليف الانتقال ذات الصلة بإجراءات التجربة. يمكن تقديم هذا التعويض فقط وفقًا لسياسة مركز التجربة الذي يتلقى فيه المريض العلاج. يُرجى استشارة فريق التجربة السريرية في المركز بشأن سياسة التعويض المحلية وبشأن حقوقك قبل الالتحاق بالتجربة.

The PANOVA-3 trial (also known as the “EF-27 trial”) is a pivotal (analogous to a drug Phase III), randomized controlled trial, designed to test the efficacy and safety of Tumor Treating Fields (TTFields), generated by a medical device, the NovoTTF-100L(P) System [About TTFields]  in combination with gemcitabine and nab-paclitaxel as front-line treatment for patients with locally advanced pancreatic adenocarcinoma which is not amenable to surgical resection. The trial is expected to enroll a total of 556 patients. The trial is now enrolling patients in multiple centers across Europe and will soon be open in the United States and Canada [PANOVA-3 Centers].

The PANOVA-3 Trial Design

Patients who were recently diagnosed with locally advanced pancreatic adenocarcinoma which is not amenable to surgical resection are candidates for this trial. Final eligibility can only be determined by the clinical trial physician in one of the clinical trial centers. All patients enrolled in the trial will receive a standard of care treatment for their pancreatic cancer with gemcitabine and nab-paclitaxel, similar to patients who are not participating in the trial. All patients will be randomly assigned to one of two groups:

  • The TTFields Group: TTFields using the NovoTTF-100L(P) System in addition to standard of care gemcitabine and nab-paclitaxel.
    • The Standard of Care Group (control): standard of care gemcitabine and nab-paclitaxel.
    Each patient will have 50% chance of entering each of the two groups as determined by a “randomization process” (similar to a coin flip). Eligible patients can be enrolled in the trial no later than 28 days after their diagnosis of pancreatic adenocarcinoma.

TTFields Group

If assigned to the TTFields Group, the patient will receive continuous TTFields treatment using the NovoTTF-100L(P) System. In order to apply the device, the patient needs to wear four Transducer Arrays taped on the abdomen, back and flanks. Transducer Array placement may require shaving of the abdomen/back before starting to use the device, and twice a week for as long as its use continues.

The use of the device will start in an outpatient setting and will include training on the operation of the equipment by a qualified Novocure Device Support Specialist (DSS). Patients will continue to use the device at home [Living with TTFields]. Patients using the NovoTTF-100L(P) System can maintain the use of the device alone (with the help of a family member or a care giver if needed) or may receive support from their DSS.

The system is user-friendly and all technical aspects related to using it are maintained by the DSS. The DSS can also help patients in finding technical solutions to allow each individual to receive TTFields while maintaining his/her normal daily routines.

In addition, patient will receive standard of care gemcitabine and nab-paclitaxel.

Standard of Care Group
Patients assigned to the Standard of Care Group will receive standard of care gemcitabine and nab-paclitaxel. Patients might benefit from receiving comprehensive follow up exams every 4 weeks that include some testing not typically included in standard of care at no cost to the patient.

In addition, all study participants contribute to future patients by providing additional information and data used to assess the efficacy of TTFields.

 

Eligibility
For the complete list of eligibility criteria please go to clinicaltrials.gov or consult with a PANOVA-3 trial physician:

Inclusion Criteria (summary, not complete list):

  1. New diagnosis of pancreatic adenocarcinoma in locally advanced stage and not amenable for surgery.
  2. At least 18 years of age.

 

Exclusion Criteria (summary, not complete list):

  1. Prior palliative treatment (e.g. surgery, radiation) to the tumor.
  2. Being unable to operate the NovoTTF-100L(P) device independently or with the help of a caregiver.
  3. Pregnant or breast feeding women.
  4. Significant illnesses not associated with the primary disease.
  5. Implanted electronic devices (e.g. pacemaker) in the torso.

 

Enrollment

Expected total enrollment is 556 patients. The trial is currently enrolling in multiple medical centers in Europe, and will soon be open in the United States and Canada. Please contact one of them as soon as possible if you would like to participate in the PANOVA-3 trial.

 

Trial Costs

The trial sponsor (Novocure) will pay for reasonable treatment related supplies, including the NovoTTF-100L(P) System and accessories. Patients and their insurance will be responsible for medical treatments received in the normal course of patient care. The trial sponsor will also reimburse patients for some travel costs related to the trial’s procedures. Such reimbursement can be done only according to the policy of the trial center at which the patient is being treated. Please consult with the clinical trial team at the center prior to enrolling in the trial about the local reimbursement policy and your rights.